Gregg Whitfield

Not Accepting guests

Cambria, CA, USA

Basic Information

Age :

67

Gender :

67

About 

I played tennis through high school and college and graduated with a degree in physical education. I was a teaching tennis professional at a So. Cal Club for around 10 years. I got married and we had 3 girls who are now in their 30's. I got introduced to pickleball 5 years ago and have developed my game to be a 5.0 player with many results in tournaments. I promote pickleball as the best sport to play for your lifetime.

Hobbies/Interests:

I like living in a coastal small town on the central coast of California. I like to fish, surf, hunt, snorkel, and go shelling.

Countries Visited :

Australia and Europe

Favorite Things :

I like a blend of oldies, country, and top chart hits.

Pickleball

Pickleball Community in my Hometown :

There are 6 beautiful courts with a membership of around 100. The club is older members over 70 with players in the skill level of 2.5 to 4.0. Many of the better players in the county come to the Cambria courts because the weather averages 65 and there are always open courts.

Pickleball Experiences :

I was introduced to pickleball in 2015 and fell in love with it. Because of my extensive background in tennis, I play recreationally and in tournaments. I am certified by the IPTPA, am the Ambassador for PB in Cambria, and promote the sport because I firmly believe it is the best lifetime sport. My philosophy in pickleball at the recreational level is to extend the point and hit the ball to all players on the court. Too many players hit the ball to the weaker player to win recreation games. I play and teach the different pickleball shots and strategies to be a sound player. I wanted to see what my simple methodology could do in tournaments and I proved that it works as I have won tournaments at the highest skill level in my age bracket of 65+.

Are you a Referee? :

Yes