Maureen Heath

Not Accepting guests

Mulino, OR, USA

Basic Information

Age :

53

Gender :

53

About 

I am a native and life long resident of Oregon, having been born in Portland and then growing up in a small community called Colton, just about an hour SE of Portland.
While I love venturing into the city for fun and cultural activities, I love that I can retreat to my home where it's quiet and forested. Yet I'm only 20 minutes away from Pickleball courts!

Hobbies/Interests:

I am an artist who loves to paint, sculpt, do woodworking and next up is learning welding/metal work/silversmithing!
I also enjoy being outside hiking, kayaking, camping, antiquing and hitting flea markets to see what treasures I can find and recreate into something beautiful and useful.

Countries Visited :

Venezuela
Costa Rica
Mexico

Favorite Things :

My go to music is classic rock, funk and easy listening all from the late 60's to early 80's.
I also enjoy a few older Christian artists such as Fernando Ortega.
I really enjoy movies of all genres, but especially appreciate ones based on true stories. Favs are Gladiator, Invincible, Red, Elf.
Books-mostly non-fiction, memoirs, autobiographies. but love a few classics such as East of Eden and To Kill a Mockingbird

Pickleball

Pickleball Community in my Hometown :

PB is growing leaps and bounds in the Portland-metro area! The people I've encountered are almost always extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful in teaching beginning players.
I appreciate that they haven't turned it into an expensive sport like skiing and golf but have kept it accessible to all. We are lacking in covered and indoor facilities at this point.

Pickleball Experiences :

I first saw some people playing PB at a local park and thought it looked like fun. I looked up the sport and its history and decided to give it a try in June 2020, taking a few lessons first. I play 2-3 times per week but hope to do more soon.
I love that I'm getting exercise while having fun and that it's among a wonderful group of people who I'm starting to get to know. Great social activity for me, a very extroverted person!
By next spring or summer I would like to try playing in some tournaments. I'm going to treat myself to a trip to Naples, FL in November to take some lessons at the academy where Simone Jardin runs!

Are you a Referee? :

No